关于


Code38的故事

我一直认为调酒师用非常廉价的酒刀去开一瓶价格不菲的美酒是一件非常不恰当的事。从某些方面讲,这种行为低估了享受一次美餐过程的价值。这些细碎的想法在我脑海挥之不去,驱动我用了12年的时间去反复地思考,设计和生产试验,终于制造出专业工程设计的,有艺术感但又非常好用耐用的酒刀。Code38就是为专业调酒师和真正的葡萄酒爱好者所设计的。

关于Code38名字的起源,“Code”就如同时尚界的着装要求,数字“38”是当我38岁的时候,终于完成了Code38的最终概念设计:专业的开酒器,但又非常的优雅和好用。。。。。。并且你可享用终生,传承后代。但这远还没有结束。做完概念设计后,我又去了世界上很多国家,寻找最好最受欢迎的酒刀做研究,查阅相关书籍,和我所能遇到和接触到的葡萄酒爱好者,餐馆管理者,调酒师们进行了关于酒刀的各个方面的交流(当然也包括不时有的争论)。

然后我开始寻找工业设计公司把我的概念设计变成现实。但这些公司无一例外地把我的设计改造成那些廉价的同类产品。这曾让我非常沮丧,有次我不得不骑上我最钟爱的BMW摩托一路狂奔到Cape York,澳大利亚的海之角来平静我的思绪。我曾是受过专业训练的飞机仪表设计师,也曾经设计过为澳大利亚奥林匹克运动员专用的理疗台。在无数次失望之后,我决定自己来完成酒刀的生产设计。我从最开始情不自禁地在餐巾纸上手绘简单的线条开始,很快就发展到酒刀样品被澳洲最有名的调酒师和餐厅经理试用和拥簇。

但当真正开始生产时,传统工艺方式的冲压和切割根本达不到设计所想体现的效果。经过多方参考和研究,我发现MIM – 金属注射成型工艺值得一试。MIM工艺是生产瑞士手表,飞机和跑车常用的工艺。这种工艺可满足对设计细节和产品的精确度不同寻常的要求。

时间在我未来几年不断地更新设计和完善工艺的过程中流逝。但这种等待是值得的。Code38一经面市就引起轰动。很快地,Eric Asimov,《纽约时报》的记者在亲自买了一把Code38试用之后,写了两页篇幅的文章发表在《纽约时报》上(文章链接link to article),将Code38迅速推上世界的舞台。随后这篇文章又被收录于《纽约时报》编撰的《葡萄酒大全》(《The book of Wines》)做为第一章第一篇文章隆重推荐。尽管价格不菲,Code38还是成为越来越多专业从事葡萄酒行业的人士和葡萄酒爱好者的选择。

世界上很多高级葡萄萄经销商,调酒大师或收藏者都拥有一把或几把Code38,并声称这是他们日常使用最多的开酒器。请参阅我们的“葡萄美酒档案揭秘 “(链接Secret Wine Files)了解更多对他们的采访。在这里你可以通过一些世界上最好的调酒师包括2013年美国调酒师大赛冠军Alex Lapratt 和欧洲冠军Arvid Rosengren 以及葡萄酒经销商的眼睛对世界范围的萄葡酒和餐饮行业服务有个了解。 

每一个Code38都是我亲手制作完成,并都有终生维修的承诺,可以代代传承。所以Code38不光是专业好用的酒刀,也是投资收藏一个非常好的选择。

祝福大家!

杰夫

Live Chat

About





The Code38 Story

I have always thought that there’s something fundamentally wrong with a sommelier uncorking a bottle of premium wine with a cheap waiter’s friend. In some small way it just seems to undermine what would otherwise be an exceptional dining experience. This small niggling thought has led me on a 12 year journey to design, refine and manufacture, what is arguably the most artistically engineered, user-friendly, durable and reliable wine knife purely dedicated to both wine service and serious wine connoisseurs.
 
The word ‘Code’ refers to dress-code, and the number 38 was my age when I finally arrived at the final design concept for the Code38. A professional wine knife that was both elegant and intuitive to use… and had a longer shelf life than the most lovingly cellared cab sav. Achieving this however has been no mean feat. I travelled the world searching for the best wine knives, read books dedicated to the humble corkscrew and engaged in all manner of conversations (including the great closure debate) with wine enthusiasts, restauranteurs and sommeliers across the globe.
 

In the beginning, I commissioned various industrial design firms to translate my vision into a reality. But the resulting designs typically resembled the mass-produced waiter’s friend. It hit me while riding my trusty BMW to Cape York. I was a trained aircraft instrumentation engineer and had successfully designed and manufactured premium medical treatment tables used by Australian Olympic athletes. I would design the wine knife myself. It started out with a few sketchy lines on a serviette but quickly developed into a working prototype that was tested and embraced by some of Australia’s most renowned sommeliers and restauranteurs.

When it came to manufacture, traditional processes, such as pressing and casting, would not do justice to the design. So after researching the options, I discovered the slightly obscure process of metal injection moulding (MIM), normally reserved for Swiss watch, aerospace and prestige car component manufacture. This process promised to deliver exceptional part detail and component accuracy.

The next few years were a blur of negotiations and redesigns but the final outcome was sensational and was picked up very early by Eric Asimov of the New York Times in a two page feature article (link to article) which catapulted the product and brand onto the world stage, and despite its high entry price, the Code38 has become increasingly the choice for those working in professional wine service. 

Owners of the Code38 are in great company with many of the world's elite wine professionals claiming the Code38 as their primary tool of choice. Find out first hand what is being said about the Code38 by reading their interviews in our Secret Wine Files which give a wonderful insight into the world of wine and wine service though the eyes of some very talented individuals including holders of US Best Sommelier Alex LaPratt and 2013 Best European Sommelier Arvid Rosengren.

As each Code38 is hand-finished by me and carries a lifetime guarantee, the Code38 professional wine knife is gaining great status as an investment for life.

All the best,

Jeff

Live Chat